New ISSB appointments

On 27 January 2022, the Trustees of the IFRS Foundation announced the appointment of Sue Lloyd as vice-chair of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) for an initial term of four years. This follows the announcement of Emmanuel Faber’s appointment as Chair of the ISSB in December 2021.

Keywords: Mazars, Thailand, IFRS, International Sustainability Standards Board, ISSB, IFRS IC, SASB, VRF, IIRC

28 March 2022

Sue Lloyd, who is currently Vice-Chair of the IASB, will leave that post earlier than planned (her term would have run until end-2023) to take up her new role at the ISSB from 1 March 2022. She is also the current Chair of the IFRS Interpretations Committee (IFRS IC). As Vice-Chair of the ISSB, she will focus particularly on technical issues relating to standard-setting.

In addition, Janine Guillot has been appointed as special adviser to the ISSB chair with effect from 1 February 2022. Ms Guillot is currently CEO of the Value Reporting Foundation (VRF), which was formed from the merger of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) and the International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) in 2021. Her appointment follows the announcement by the IFRS Foundation in November 2021 that the VRF (and the Climate Disclosure Standards Board; see the following item in this issue) will be consolidated into the IFRS Foundation.

In her role as special adviser, Janine Guillot will provide strategic advice to the Chair of the ISSB and the Trustees. She will have specific responsibilities for integrating the VRF into the IFRS Foundation (which is scheduled for completion by the end of June 2022) and for establishing the ISSB.